djcnor interior decoration ideas

June 16, 2009

Dulux Trend: Reinvent

I’m not enamoured of this one as presented on the Dulux website:

http://www.dulux.co.uk/inspiration/latest_trends/reinvent.jsp

But that just makes it a good challenge. Fulfilling briefs you aren’t particularly enamoured of  is part of what I aim to do.

My first idea is so obvious, even the site itself mentions it. A patchwork quilt, a crazy quilt, to be specific. We’re working with whatever already exists, so all I ask for is some of the textiles from the room as it was, textiles you’d be replacing anyhow, say the curtains, or upholstery fabrics, or a tablecloth. I’ll take those, add some coordinating ones scavenged from items I find at the local charity shops, and build a crazy quilt or some crazy quilt square cushions. I’ll soon have a page up showing examples of my crazy quilting, so you can see what I mean.

To continue the patchwork and recycling scheme, there’s a technique I’ve been dying to try. It’s got a French name that I can’t remember and can’t seem to find the right google terms to locate. (I’ll update this page when I find it.) What Gaudi did in  Park Geull is the general idea.

http://www.traveladventures.org/continents/europe/images/gaudi03.jpg

We would take your old coffee table and a selection of any ceramics you felt like disposing of. The ceramics would be broken up, perhaps adding again some charity shop finds, and used to “pave” the top of the coffee table in a random-ish (though, of course, entirely within your color scheme) mosaic.

Third, how about some embroidery, fabric painting, or beadwork to renew and reuse a textile from another part of the house. We recycled the old curtains into our crazy quilt. Now, let me fabric paint and sew some plain sheets for new curtains.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.